Traveling Sketchbooks

In 2009 I had an idea. I thought it was a brilliant idea. I still do, if only I could get it to work.

The idea was like the surrealist’s game ‘exquisite corpse’ but was to be played over a long period of time and distance. At the time I was living away from home and I had friends all over the place and thought it would be fun to play a snail mail version of exquisite corpse.

I made several little accordion fold sketchbooks, attached a return address, and sent them off to friends in South Korea, Mexico, Oregon, New Zealand, and I started on in England. As you can imagine there are many hang ups in such a long-term game. The mail system for example, the book to Mexico never arrived. Also, catching people’s attention enough to have them make a drawing, (and responsible enough) pass it on to another person to do the same six times over!

Similar to my last post, it is like fishing. I think I started 6 books then and I believe the more I send out, the higher the chance of a few returning one day. Completely full of art from different people all over the place, all making one big picture.

Last month I started a new book with a friend who has a family of artists and intended to share the book with them. I am looking forward to what they make. The book below also has a starter, a watercolorists south of Lawrence. My goal is to start 6 or so each year. If you are interested in knowing more or think you would like to partake in a traveling sketchbook please contact me and I’ll do my best.

There is a bit more information and pictures of other traveling sketchbooks on my website. www.lindseyyankey.com

Leah’s beautiful picture started in South Korea, hope it is still traveling around Seoul filling up!

One thought on “Traveling Sketchbooks

Leave a Reply

