Author Illustrator Blog-Tour

The lovely, Stephany Aulenback author of If I Wrote a Book About You, has tagged me to be part of a book-blog-tour! Simply put, children’s authors and illustrators answer the same few questions about their work and pass the baton to another author / illustrator. If I wrote a book about you

 

Q. What am I currently working on?

At the moment I’m working on wrapping up my second picture with Simply Read Books. In short it is about the sun and moon and the moon’s journey through the night sky. Along with that I’m working on developing story ideas for my next book, practicing hand lettering, learning to sew, and beginning my fall into the rabbit hole of redesigning my website.

3

Q. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’m not sure that it differs so greatly, I’ve just got my own flavor to add to picture books. I believe picture books can speak to a wide audience, beyond the age range they are recommended for, and beyond our present day. I’d like to believe that I can tell meaningful stories and express important ideas through simple words and strong illustrations, stories that allow children and grown-up-children to interpret the meanings for themselves. I think all children’s writers and illustrators hold their own goals and beliefs when it comes to their work, these are a few of mine.

Q. Why do I write/illustrate what I write/illustrate?     And   Q. How does my individual writing/illustrating process work?

I suppose I just answered part of this question with my last answer… So in addition to what I said above, I like to write stories based on one simple idea and develop them from there. Ideas like “a bird who is looking for the wind” or “the moon is jealous of the sun.” These one line thoughts allow me to make up the surrounding story. Why would a bird go looking for the wind, and why would the moon be jealous of the sun, and so on.

When it comes to illustrating, I like to imagine places I’d like to go and things I’d like to see. I like to play with perspective and show the world from funny angles that do and don’t make sense, partly to show the point of view of the characters, and partly to make the best use of the page. I love to use a variety of materials and to keep my mind open to making things new ways. Although oil paints are one of my all time favorite, sometimes there are illustrations that would lend themselves better to other materials. I use watercolor, gauche, linoleum block, found paper, and collage made of my patterns. I start an illustration by developing a sturdy composition and then I begin to think of how I can incorporate some small details that reappear on other pages or have their own story to tell.

Bluebird : Clock tower

 

Spreads from Bluebird

 

1

 

Up next on the blog-tour is the wonderful Matthew Cook. Hop on over to Matthew’s blog to see the YA book he’s illustrated, The Daring Escape of the Misfit Menagerie, and many more projects he’s working on!

 

Here are a few of the other children’s authors and illustrators who are part of the book-blog-tour!

http://www.sophieblackall.blogspot.com/

http://crookedhouse.typepad.com/

http://vikkivansickle.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/how-does-a-story-grow/

http://kyomaclearkids.com/all-over-the-map/

http://carinberger.blogspot.ca/2014/06/a-u-t-h-o-r-b-l-o-g-t-o-u-r.html

 

Leave a Reply

